Published Date: October 7, 2021

The President of the Republic of Seychelles H.E. Wavel Ramkalawan, signed the instrument of accession to the Harare Protocol on 26th August 2021 which was received by ARIPO on 1 October 2021. As such, the Republic of Seychelles will become the 21st ARIPO Member State and with effect from 1 January 2022, applicants for ARIPO patent, design and utility model applications will be able to designate Seychelles in applications filed at ARIPO.

Although the Republic of Seychelles’ membership of ARIPO was approved in 2019, the deposit of its instrument of Accession to ARIPO was delayed until August this year when it became the 21st ARIPO member state and the 19th   contracting state to accede to the Harare Protocol.

For further information on these developments and patent protection in Seychelles or any ARIPO member state please contact

Read more here.